Yesto Tomatoes Review

PicsArt_03-21-09.46.30

For a little while now I have been contemplating trying another moisturiser. Now, if you are like me and have problematic skin (I have oily, acne prone skin…but the principle is still the same with other skin issues too) then the mere notion of venturing away from a product, or products, that you know work with your skin can be a rather daunting thing.

I used to be in the belief that my skin didn’t need a moisturiser or would get worse if I used a moisturiser because my skin was oily. To me, moisture was the last thing my skin needed and would sure make me more oily than ever before if I was to start using a moisturiser. So for many years I held off using a moisturiser in my skin care routine, firmly believing that I was doing the right thing for my skin. Wrong!! Infact, using a moisturiser should be part of your skin care routine regardless of what skin type you have (excluding medical related skin issues, I cant comment on this aspect and you should ask a professional about this matter if it relates to you).

One of the issues I found I was having was that I assumed that all moisturisers were the same and any that I had briefly used before hadn’t helped my skin and so therefore I shouldn’t be using them. It was only after I done some research into how to manage/treat oily skin I found that there are moisturisers out there for such skin types and after further research into oily skin specific moisturisers I decided to try the Clinique ‘Dramatically different moisturising GEL’. There is a lotion version of this product for those who don’t have oily skin. The gel version is better for those with oily skin as it is oil free and light weight. As a side note, its important to note that not every oil is bad for the skin, even if you have oily skin. For example- tea tree oil. This is an oil which is beneficial to problematic skin. So please don’t automatically assume that you should always opt for or use ‘oil free’ products. A little research into product ingredients should offer you some guidance also.

So, as mentioned above I opted for the Clinique ‘Dramatically different moisturising gel’ as my first ever moisturiser geared towards using with oily skin. Since I started using it a couple years ago I have been scared to venture elsewhere incase other products don’t work or make my skin worse. But as time has gone by I cant help feel that while the product works well for oily skin and I would highly recommend it to those suffering from oily skin that it’s a little pricey. But in my mind I was best to stick with it because it worked and surely I couldn’t find another product that would work if it was cheap. The age old saying of ‘if its too good to be true then it probably is’ kept popping into my mind when I would come across an ‘oily skin’ moisturiser at a cheery price. So I stayed away and stuck with what I knew worked.

Then I stumbled across Yesto and I was immediately taken with it all. The look, the claims, the products themselves, the price….everything. But of course lets not forget ‘if its too good to be true then it probably is’……so I decided once again to stick with Clinique. Several months past and every time it came to repurchase the moisturiser I was always tempted to try the Yesto products, specifically the ‘Yesto tomatoes’ range as that is the range geared towards problematic skin (acne/oily). And this most recent time as I was nearing the end of my Clinique moisturiser I decided ‘what the heck, just go for it’. I was more ‘brave’ in making the decision to try another moisturiser as I have just recently decided to try a different micellar water after having the same situation- not wanting to venture elsewhere when I know what I’m using works for my skin- but decided to ‘go for it’ also. FYI- I was using the Bioderma micellar water for oily skin but have been using the Garnier micellar pure active water for combination skin and so far I wont be switching back to the Bioderma one as I can honestly say I cant tell/feel any difference and the Garnier one is much cheaper and you get almost double the amount.

Yesto do have their own website, here, but I couldn’t purchase for some reason so I purchased mine from here.

The Ranges

There are a variety of ranges that Yesto offer. These are carrots, cucumbers, coconut, grapefruit, blueberries and tomatoes.

For my skin type its beneficial for me to use the ‘Yesto tomatoes’ range.

WHY TOMATOES? Filled with Lycopene, a powerful antioxidant, this fruit (not veggie!) defends against factors that cause breakouts while balancing oil production.

You can read in more detail about how tomatoes are beneficial to your skin by clicking here and you can also find out about each range and its ingredients by clicking here.

What I got

I purchased the Daily balancing moisturiser and the Clearing facial mask both are from the Yesto tomatoes range and both are 50ml (1.7 fl oz) and as I type this both are priced at £11.99 each.

PicsArt_03-21-09.49.33

First Impressions

My initial impression from these items is that I LOVE the packaging. The colouring and design (of all the ranges actually) is pleasing on the eye. Its simple, clean and reflects what the product and brand is about.

Another aspect of the packaging which I like is that there is the added addition of short sayings, which for me, brought a little smile to my face. I found that it added character and personality to the brand.

Using the products

The daily moisturiser- When I first used this I used waaaay too much. Using the amount that I would use if using the Clinique moisturiser (maybe a 20p size). So I now only use a little over a 1p size amount, if that, and I find this works well for me.

PicsArt_03-21-09.49.02

The clearing facial mask- This stuff dries fairly quickly, you only have a short amount of time to get the mask on before it starts to come off again if you mask over the top of it. You do however only need a thin layer so its not too hard to work fast. You leave it on for 5 minutes and then remove with warm water. As it dries it tightens, but not to a level of discomfort. You can still talk and move your face relatively easily, but for a 5 minute mask its very much a comfortable experience.

PicsArt_03-21-09.48.29

The smell of both of the products is not what I was expecting at all!!! I prepared myself for tomato overload. However there is no detection of tomato scent anywhere. I would liken the fragrance to a rather masculine aftershave type scent. But not at all overpowering or unpleasant. I have very sensitive skin and the scent doesn’t aggravate it in any way (including when used near the eyes), in addition the fragrance doesn’t last long too.

Does it work?

While I have only been using the products for a short time I have to say that I am so far happy to remain a Yesto user. Based off the product performance i feel relatively confident in that i will continue to repurchase and use Yesto products, specifically the tomato range. This means that unless something occurs somewhere along the line (within the next few weeks after my skin has got accustomed to the new products) then ill be bumping up Yesto as my primary skin care products and pushing the Clinique ‘Dramatically different moisturising gel’ to the sidelines.

Makeup and Moisturiser

Here are some photos of my face (apologies haha) which show what my make up looks like after i have used the Yesto Daily Moisturiser underneath. Its probably worthwhile pointing out that i rarely use a primer. So the photos that you see will show how the moisturiser performs with make up after initial application and then how the makeup looks at the end of the day (after around 9 or so hours wear, with NO touch ups).

And here is a collage photo of my face/skin at the end of the day. Remember there have been no makeup touch ups at all during the approx. 9 hours since initial make up application. (please excuse the photo/lighting quality)

PicsArt_03-24-05.21.49

Despite the general ‘wear’ of the make up i think that my oily skin has held up an absolute dream. There is a small amount of oil showing/coming through on my forehead, nose and chin (I’m not sure how well you can see it on the photos). My main areas of oil issues is the T-Zone.

So based off the ‘newly applied’ and ‘lived in’ photo comparisons i think, and hope, that you can see that my skin/oil hasn’t proved to be much of a problem at all.

Final thoughts

My final thoughts on the Yesto tomatoes products i have tried is a big fat YES! i am a yesto convert. i am a yesto fan. And i thoroughly encourage all my fellow oily skinned folks to give them a whirl too, especially before splashing out your hard earned money on the ‘luxury’ brands when quite frankly theres no need to.

I was very hesitant to try something new for my skin. But sometimes it pays off to just ‘give it a go’. If it doesn’t work you can always go back. I’m not by any means suggesting that the Clinique ‘dramatically different moisturising gel’ is awful, as its not. Infact its amazing. It works. But so does Yesto and for me i don’t see the need to pay more for a product when i can get an equally great product for less money. In some aspects i would even say that Yesto is better than the Clinique moisturiser. Price, for one. But i know that this Yesto will last me longer because i don’t need to use as much as i do when i use the Clinique moisturiser. I also think that while other products you use alongside another product can give different results (for example, if i was to use a different foundation with the moisturiser, or a different highlighter etc) that based off how my makeup/skin has performed since using this Yesto daily moisturiser that its controlled the oil a lot better than the Clinique one did. Again, this aspect will probably vary depending upon what products you use etc.

I have no doubt that i will have oil control issues in the future, regardless of if i use Yesto or not. That’s just how skin is, it changes, especially problematic skin. But for the most part i feel having a set skin care routine in place, with set products in your skin care routine will be beneficial to you and your skin as opposed to changing it up all the time. Clinique worked and still works for me. But i knew i wanted to try something else since i had only ever used Clinique. My suggestion, is to do a little research before you buy the products you want to try and see if you feel it will work for you. But as of now, i cant recommend Yesto tomatoes enough.

If you have any suggetions or tips and advice about problematic skin then leave a comment.

Toodles.

Leave a Reply

